Skip to main content
Securian Financial Home

Board of directors

Members of our board of directors are values-driven business and community leaders who provide oversight of the policies and practices by which our company is managed. They challenge us to be our best.


Meet our leadership team, which guides us in helping our customers build secure tomorrows.

Learn more
Mary Brainerd 120 circle image

Mary K. Brainerd

Retired President and Chief Executive Officer 

Bloomington, Minnesota

Committees: Audit (Chair); Investment; Executive 

Jay Debertin 120 circle image

Jay D. Debertin

President and Chief Executive Officer 

CHS Inc. 
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota

Committees: Human Resources and Compensation; Investment; Non-Overlapping Directors

Ben Fowke 120 circle image

Benjamin G. S. Fowke, III

Retired President and Chief Executive Officer 

Xcel Energy, Inc. 
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Committees: Audit, Human Resources and Compensation (Chair)

Sara Gavin 120 circle image

Sara H. Gavin

Retired Chief Client Officer

Weber Shandwick 
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Committees: Corporate Governance and Public Affairs (Chair); Human Resources and Compensation; Executive

Eric Goodman 120 circle image

Eric B. Goodman

Retired Chief Investment Officer 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Committees: Audit; Investment

Chris Hilger 120 circle image

Christopher M. Hilger

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer 

Securian Financial Group, Inc. 
St. Paul, Minnesota

Committees: Corporate Governance and Public Affairs; Investment; Executive

Trudy Rautio 120 circle image

Trudy A. Rautio

Retired President and Chief Executive Officer

Minnetonka, Minnesota

Committees: Audit; Investment (Chair); Executive

Beth Simermeyer 120 circle image

Elizabeth A. Simermeyer

Retired Executive Vice President and President of Global Healthcare, Life Sciences and Hand Care

St. Paul, Minnesota

Committees: Audit; Corporate Governance and Public Affairs; Non-Overlapping Directors

Katia Walsh 120 circle image

Katia O. Walsh

Chief Digital Officer

Harvard Business School
Boston, Massachusetts

Committees: Corporate Governance and Public Affairs; Investment

DOFU 6-2023